Utah is home to many famous attractions, including the incredible red rocks of Zion National Park, eye-catching ski resorts like Snowbird and Alta Ski Resorts. With such offbeat places to explore, you wouldn't believe that Utah is also home to some of the strangest laws. Some of these laws are remnants of bygone eras, others seem to have arisen spontaneously. Curious about what's illegal in this state? The following are 20 of the rare onesUtahLaws that are really real.
Table of contents show
20. Are your children rebellious?
Utah hotel hosts have the right to charge additional fees to guests whose children appear overly busy upon check-in. Fees cover loss and damage incurred after those parents check out.Pursuant to Utah Code 29-2-103, parents with unruly children may be required to pay a $500 security deposit at Beehive's City Hotels. Parents must give written assurance that they will pay for any damage, costs and taxes incurred by a minor in an accommodation facility and its facilities. In cases where a valid credit card is not possible, parents are required to provide the innkeeper with a deposit not exceeding $500. The payment covers any damage or burden caused by the minor to an accommodation facility or its furniture. This deposit is refundable if not used to cover any damages found by the innkeeper upon inspection of the room at check-out.
19. Bury your pet immediately
When your pet dies, you may want to spend some time grieving and making the right arrangements to give them a proper burial. In the hive state, pet owners can properly bury their deceased pets, but must do so within 48 hours. Burying pets in the backyard is allowed as long as you own the property. The law also recommends burying the animal three feet below ground.
18. Strictly no elephant hunting.
Did you know that elephant hunting is illegal in Utah? It's one of many strange Utah laws that are still in the books. The Utah legislature passed legislation in 1909 making elephant hunting illegal. The unintended consequence of this law is that no one in the state of Utah can legally kill an elephant for any reason.
17. In an emergency, do not sell alcohol
Utah hat strictalcohol regulationLaws Some cities ban the sale of alcohol entirely. If you often run to the bar at the first sign of trouble, Utah might not be the state for you. The law states that during a governor-declared emergency in an area, a person may not sell, supply, offer for sale, or deliver alcoholic products.
16. Throwing rocks the other way
One of Utah's stranger laws prohibits residents from throwing stones at cars. The law was introduced in order not to disturb pedestrians and travelers. The only exception is the permission of the property owner. Throwing rocks or rocks at vehicles is a nuisance habit, so following this law can be a good idea.
15. Biting is not allowed in a boxing match.
In accordance with the laws of Justia US, certain rules define how you can or cannot beat your opponent in a boxing match. Biting, hitting a person who cannot protect himself with objects that are not part of the body is against the law. Persons who promote, advertise, participate in, or conduct a Finals fight are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
14. Whaling is not allowed
A strange law in Utah that's real involves whaling. Capturing a whale in Utah is illegal and this ban has been in place since 1970. The law protects whales and encourages conservation efforts. In a real sense, the whales are unlikely to survive in the Great Salt Lake since the whales live in the ocean and the ocean is nowhere near Utah.
13. Don't joke with the cops
Prank calls to police officers are illegal in Utah.Under Utah Penal CodeMaking a fake bomb threat and other hoax calls involving mass threats is a criminal offense. People shouldn't call a police officer and pretend to be a crime victim. If you notify these police officers of an emergency and provide a different address, you are guilty of a fourth-degree felony. The law was enacted in 2013 and is relevant to those who make a prank call to an emergency number. Don't take this lightly! Violators face up to 1.5 years in prison, a $10,000 fine, or both.
12. Marrying a cousin is illegal
Utah is one of the few states where it is illegal for cousins to marry. If you want to get married and live in this state, you must date outside of the family. However, there are some exceptions, e.g. B. when both parties are 65 or older or at least 55 years of age and the local district court has approved that neither party can reproduce. The law helps prevent incest and defects that are likely to occur when close blood relatives have children together.
11. Drinks are not allowed in restaurants unless you are ordering food.
Diners in Utah must order foodalcoholic drinks, even if you are in a hurry. Liquor stores are only licensed for beer, but if you're looking for refreshing alcohol at a Utah restaurant, no one will serve you until you order something to eat. Serving alcoholic beverages to customers without an additional food order is illegal. Stealing bread baskets from another table doesn't work in the hive state. There is no indication of how much food a customer can order.
10. You cannot harass certain workers
If you are in Price City, Utah, do not consider speaking to or harassing a city engineer while you work. On the rare occasion you come across a milkman, be sure to give him personal space. Any communication from these employees must be initiated by them, not you.
9. Strictly no weather change.
Did you know it's illegal to change the weather in Utah without permission? Believe it or not, this is an established law in our state. If you are caught manipulating the weather, you could face dire consequences. Weather modifications can include cloud seeding, which increases snowfall or precipitation and helps improve local water supplies. Be sure to check with the relevant authorities before attempting to make it rain or snow lightly.
8. Don't open your alcohol container in the car
It is illegal to have an open alcohol container in a vehicle driving on public roads. This also applies to cars parked on private property such as a driveway. Utah law states that no person may have alcoholic beverages in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle. This includes glove compartments, under the seats and in the trunk. The only exception is when the bin is full and sealed or you are taking a break. An open container of your favorite alcoholic beverage in the car can land you up to 90 days in prison and a $750 fine, which is actually common law in most states. No open containers.
7. Liquor stores don't open on Sundays
Whisky, rum, vodka, and other distilled spirits are sold in liquor stores. Also, they are the only places where you can buy your favorite wine or beer with over 5% ABV. These shops are closed on Sundays and reopen Monday through Saturday. Also, your favorite liquor store is not open on all federal and state holidays. If you must drink alcohol on a Sunday, Christmas or Thanksgiving day, you can try your luck at licensed distillers.
6. Don't cause disaster
Pursuant to Utah State Code, Chapter 76a, Section 3011, recklessly causing a disaster makes you guilty of a misdemeanor. C. Causing any type of disaster in Utah is illegal. Do you know what counts as a disaster? Well, the state penal code defines a disaster as the use of weapons of mass destruction, fire, avalanche, explosion, building collapse, flood and other destructive force or noxious substances that can cause widespread damage or injury. This may appear on Utah's list of weird laws, and the language sounds weird, but if you look closely it makes a lot of sense. The legal clause deals with people causing explosions, fires, floods and other problems that harm others and cause property damage.
5. 2 liters of beer is enough
Withholding licensees may not sell, offer for sale, or ship beer in containers larger than two small containers. You can buy a larger Budweiser (300ml), Double Rye (750ml), a liter of Beehive Vodka or a 650ml Bomber beer. On the other hand, nobody will sell you a 6th keg (19L) or a 30L pony keg unless it is an authorized retailer. That might not come as a big surprise. Did you know that mini bottles (below 200 ml) are also illegal? They'd rather buy that 750ml vodka than those little liquor bottles.
4. Riding a bike is not a circus
In Utah, you are forbiddenassemble a bikewithout touching the handlebars, regardless of your riding ability. The law requires at least one hand to touch the bars. You may think this is common sense, but there are many people who have been fined for violating this law. Violation of this law can result in fines. Bike enthusiasts can sip their coffee while pedalling, but one hand must be touching the bars.
3. No grazing on street corners
There are many strange laws in Utah, but the street corner herding law is quite unique. Running a herd of animals in this federal state is only permitted with the consent of the mayor. There was one incident where shepherds were allowed to herd their sheep across the road unhindered, causing some traffic problems and angry drivers. In response, lawmakers passed legislation to prevent cattle, llamas, emus, and other ungulates from being herded on city streets.
2. Make sure your horse is under control
Keep your horse corralled or it will be considered a public nuisance. You must lock up your horses in Utah. When animals roam free, they can cause great harm to property, people, and other animals. Don't let your horse roam free in Utah or the state will be forced to capture and sell it. The county legislature disposes of all stray horses in the most cost effective and cost effective manner possible. In addition, the law states that horse owners are responsible for any damage or injury caused by their horses. Animals need adequate food and water, protection from the elements, and protection from predators. This legislation is for the safety of pets. The stray horse problem was a big problem a century ago and it's unclear why this law is still on the books.
1. Bringing alcohol into Utah is like smuggling Afghan heroin
The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC) has the sole mandate to import all alcoholic beverages.Alcohol is expensivein Utah, but you cannot source alcohol in another state and bring it here. If you come from abroad, you can keep a few liters for your own use. Individuals who have an out-of-state secondary residence may be permitted by the DABC to bring some alcohol. You have to pay a fee and bring alcohol once. Accredited foreign diplomatic missions can apply for a permit. The 20 Weird Laws of Utah detailed in this article are a source of entertainment and showcase the state's conservative nature. They are influenced by the teachings of the Church and Mormon culture in the Hive State. This is evident in the strict anti-alcohol law where in some cities it is illegal to buy, sell or consume any form of alcohol. Also, some of Utah's strange laws are a reaction to real-world events, while others are a result of the state's culture and history.
Keep your hands on the handlebars.
If you are riding a bicycle or moped, there's no joyriding with your hands willy-nilly. According to UT Code § 41-6a-1112, you need both hands free to steer and at least one hand on the handlebars at all times.
In California it is illegal to have caller ID • In California it's against regulations to let phones ring more than nine times in state offices. It is illegal to cry on the witness stand. Lodi: It is illegal to own or sell "Silly String". It is illegal to set a mouse trap without a hunting license.Is it illegal to not drink milk in Utah? ›
It is illegal to not drink milk
On the subject of what you can and can't drink in Utah, it seems that the state is not the friendliest for those who are lactose intolerant. In the state, it is illegal to not drink milk, which leads one to wonder if Utah's dairy farmers had something to do with state lawmaking.
In Utah, the penalty for minors engaging in sexting is a misdemeanor for the first offense. Subsequent offenses are felonies. (c) actual emotional distress or harm is caused to the person as a result of the distribution under this section.What are Utah's unwritten rules? ›
- "Prep for holiday weekends if you drink": Upon elaborating, a Reddit user said, "You can only get liquor at designated, state-controlled stores. ...
- "Don't go downtown when it's general conference" or "during Jazz games"
It's illegal to drive while your dog is tethered to your car in Alaska. You can't drive a car in reverse in public roads in Arizona. You're not allowed to drive a black car on a Sunday in Denver, Colorado. It's illegal to run out of gas in Youngstown, Ohio.What is the craziest law ever made? ›
5. California: it's against the law to eat an orange while taking a bath.What is one weird law? ›
California: You can't eat frogs that have died in frog-jumping competitions. California's Fish and Game Code, Article 2, Frog-Jumping Contests (6880-6885), states that any number of live frogs are allowed to be used in frog-jumping contests.What are silly laws called? ›
Strange laws, also called weird laws, dumb laws, futile laws, unusual laws, unnecessary laws, legal oddities, or legal curiosities, are laws that are perceived to be useless, humorous or obsolete, i.e. no longer applicable (in regard to current culture or modern law).Is it illegal to cry on the witness stand in California? ›
It may be hard to believe, but yes, it's illegal to cry on the witness stand in Los Angeles courts. This law is intended to prevent witnesses from using emotional displays to manipulate the outcome of a trial.
Olivet Nazarene University recently ranked each state's dumbest law and Alabama's is a doozy. According to the university, it's illegal to wear a fake mustache in Alabama for the purpose of causing laughter in church.Is it illegal to deny water in Utah? ›
Answer: You must own a water right to divert and use water in the State of Utah.Is it illegal to eat while driving in Utah? ›
What Does Utah Law Say About Eating While Driving? It is not against the law in Utah to consume non-alcoholic beverages or eat while driving.Is it illegal to dance in Utah? ›
While dancing itself isn't illegal, hosting a public dancing event is... unless you obtain permission from the City Council first. We saw how well that worked for Kevin Bacon.Can two adults legally sext? ›
Is Sexting Unlawful? Sexting between two consenting adults is not prohibited by law. However, sending or receiving sexually explicit content to a person under 18 years is unlawful and in some instances considered child pornography or sexual exploitation and attracts criminal charges.What is the code 76 10 1206? ›
A person 18 years old or older who knowingly solicits, requests, commands, encourages, or intentionally aids another person younger than 18 years old to engage in conduct in violation of Subsection (1) is guilty of a third degree felony and is subject to the penalties under Subsection (2)(a).Can I do sexting with my wife? ›
The first and most important step towards starting a sexting conversation with your partner is making sure you're both comfortable with it. Like any act of intimacy, sexting should only be brought into the mix if both of you are not only willing, but legitimately excited by the idea.What is Rule 53 Utah? ›
Rule 53 - Appearance and withdrawal of counsel (a) Appearance. An attorney shall appear in proceedings by filing a written notice of appearance with the court or by appearing personally at a court hearing and advising the court that the attorney is representing a party.What is Rule 7 Utah court? ›
A party may not make a motion in a memorandum opposing a motion or in a reply memorandum. A party who objects to evidence in another party's motion or memorandum may not move to strike that evidence. Instead, the party must include in the subsequent memorandum an objection to the evidence.What is Rule 100 A Utah? ›
Rule 100A - Case Management of Domestic Relations Actions (a)Case management tracks. All domestic relations actions, as defined in Rule 26.1, will be set for a case management conference before the court, or a case manager assigned by the court, after an answer to the action is filed.
- Money Bail. ...
- Private Bail Companies. ...
- Suspended Drivers Licenses. ...
- Excessive Mandatory Minimum Sentences. ...
- Wealth-Based Banishment That Outlaws Low-Income Housing. ...
- Private Probation Abuses. ...
- Parking Tickets to Debtors' Prison. ...
- Sex Offense Registration Laws.
1. Transporting Dentures across State Lines. 18 USC 1821 makes it a crime for non-dentists who make false teeth to ship their product out of state. This jaw-dropping law was enacted decades ago, but doesn't have much teeth to it.What crazy things used to be legal in the US? ›
Opium, LSD, mushrooms, heroin, ecstasy, and meth used to be perfectly legal in the U.S. You used to be able to get methamphetamines from your pharmacist to treat alcoholism and depression.What law is most broken? ›
- Underage Drinking. According to SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions), about 26% of the under-21 crowd uses alcohol at least once a month. ...
- Littering. ...
- Smoking Marijuana. ...
- Jaywalking. ...
- Pirating music.
Illegal Farting in Public: It is actually illegal to fart in a public place after 6PM in Florida. While this law may be hard to enforce, it is a good idea to avoid farting in a public place as it may attract a penalty for you.Is it illegal to sing in a swimsuit in Florida? ›
It Is Illegal to Sing in a Swimsuit
If you're planning on doing some karaoke on the beach, you may want to cover up first, as it is illegal in the State of Florida to sing in a bathing suit.
Yes, destroying money is illegal in the United States. Money is a part of the national currency and gest protected by law. Anyone destroying money can face legal consequences. This includes tearing up bills or writing on them.Is singing off key illegal in North Carolina? ›
In North Carolina, it's against the law to sing off key! So pretty much anyone who has sung at a karaoke bar has broken this law. The origin of this weird law dates back to the 19th century. Legend has it that a man in Lumberton, North Carolina was fined for singing loudly and poorly.Why is it illegal to get a fish drunk in Ohio? ›
It's Illegal to Get a Fish Drunk
While there is little record of how this law came to be passed, it remains as a part of Ohio's legal code. It is speculated that this strange law may have been passed to protect fish and other aquatic species against the dangers of fermented agricultural runoff.
Scrolling down to Washington on a site devoted to dumb laws shows several bizarre laws. However, many of them are just plain rumors, such as “All Lollipops are Banned” in the State of Washington. Don't worry, you can purchase and consume lollipops to your heart's content without fear of arrest or sanction.
Some common synonyms of law are canon, ordinance, precept, regulation, rule, and statute.What is the weird law in China? ›
China prohibits naming children strange names. This law is strange as one would expect that the choice of a baby's name depends on the parents as they are the ones who gave birth. In China, it is quite different as the government does not allow naming a child a name that sounds weird.Are zoot suits still illegal 2023? ›
Breaking this law is punishable by a fine of $500 and/or six months in prison. Zoot suits are prohibited.Where is it illegal to cry? ›
Los Angeles: In Los Angeles, it is illegal to cry on the witness stand.Is it illegal to bathe 2 babies at the same time? ›
It's against the law for a balloon to fly more than 5 feet above ground. It's illegal to bathe two babies in the same bathwater at the same time. Backyard bullfights are outlawed.Why can't Amish have mustaches? ›
The Amish do not let their mustaches grow, ever. This tradition dates back hundreds of years and connects to the fact that the Amish refuse to enlist in the military. The Amish are non-violent people, and back in the day, mustaches were associated with the forces — in which they wanted no part.Why do Muslims not have moustache? ›
Muslims learn about the Prophet's views on facial hair not from the Koran, but through hadith - or sayings - attributed to Muhammad. One such hadith, in a collection by Muslim scholar Muhammad al-Bukhari centuries ago, stipulates: "Cut the moustaches short and leave the beard."Why are mustaches banned in Amish? ›
In the 17th century, mustaches were mandatory for anyone serving in the military in most parts of Europe. The military would often harass the poor and the Amish for their different religious beliefs. Since the Amish believe in non-violence, they stopped growing mustaches to set themselves apart from servicemen.Is it illegal to water your lawn in Utah? ›
The Utah Division of Water Resources says it's OK for Utahns to water their lawns this week, but where they live dictates how many times they should do it.What are the grey water rules in Utah? ›
From Utah's graywater rule: “The use of plant friendly products is important when using graywater for irrigation. Products should be salt and borax free in addition to being biodegradable and non-toxic.
Water From the Tap
It is safe to drink water right from the tap from any of Utah's 978 public drinking water systems. Nearly 100 percent (99.7 percent) of Utah's population drink water from an approved source. Chlorine-treated water is safe to drink, although some people object to the taste and odor.
There are no state or federal laws that require an employer to provide lunch breaks or rest periods for adult workers.Is driving with Airpods illegal? ›
A: Yes, it is illegal to wear headphones while driving in the State of California. In addition to traditional headphones, any other device worn over or inside both ears is likewise illegal to use while driving a car or even a bicycle. This is explicitly codified into law under California Vehicle Code 27400 VC.Is it illegal to drive with Airpods in Utah? ›
There is no prohibition on headsets in Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Deleware, Washington D.C., Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, ...What is the Romeo and Juliet law Utah? ›
The Romeo and Juliet law distinguishes between those who know about age and those who do not. If the defendant is at least 7 years older than the alleged victim but still less than 10, they can be charged with unlawful sexual contact with a minor if they knew or reasonably should have known the minor's true age.What is the dating law in Utah? ›
The age of consent in the state of Utah is 18. There are exceptions to this; a minor who is 14 or 15 can consent to having sex with a person that is less than four years older. In other words, a 15-year-old girl can legally consent to sexual activity with a 17-year-old boy.Does Utah have any weird laws? ›
Bizarre laws in Utah. Did you know that in Salt Lake City, it is illegal to walk down the street carrying a violin in a paper bag? Just as prohibited in the Beehive State is fishing while on horseback or hiring trombone players to perform on the streets to promote an auction.What are some illegal things in Utah? ›
- No Throwing Rocks. ...
- Elephant Hunting is Strictly Illegal. ...
- Absolutely No Sheep Herding in Salt Lake City. ...
- And Don't Even Think About Betting Your Baby Ruth Bar. ...
- You Can't Drive On The Sidewalk.
It is not against the law in Utah to consume non-alcoholic beverages or eat while driving. Even though eating while driving is not something people can do safely, no state has established a law that makes eating or drinking non-alcoholic beverages a crime.Is Mooning illegal in Utah? ›
Although indecent exposure encompasses some seemingly benign acts, such as mooning, it can carry harsh penalties (including jail time) and is classified as a sex crime.
The Bottom Line on Cell Phone Use in Utah
Essentially, you can talk on your phone, but only if it is an incoming call and you are hands free. You can also use a navigation system but the destination must be programed in before driving or used hands free. You cannot do anything else unless in an emergency.
It is illegal to own a still, regardless of its intended use in the state of Utah. Residents can distill water, essential oils, etc. if they apply for a license and register the still, which I believe is the same general process for distilling alcohol.What is the most committed crime in Utah? ›
What is the most common violent crime in Utah? Theft and robbery are the state's two most common violent crimes, with assault being a close second, followed by robbery and burglary.What are 2 prohibited weapons in Utah? ›
Utah does not prohibit specific types of firearms. However, it does prohibit minors from possessing short-barreled rifles, short-barreled shotguns, and fully automatic weapons. Utah does not require a waiting period for the purchase of a gun.Can a 19 year old kiss a 16 year old in Utah? ›
In the state of Utah, the age of consent is 18 years old. The crime occurs when an adult has unlawful sexual conduct with a minor who is either 16 or 17 years of age. The sexual conduct wouldn't be considered a crime except for the statute states that the child is too young to consent.Can a 25 year old date a 17 year old in Utah? ›
The age of consent refers to the minimum age for which an individual is legally old enough to consent to sexual activities. In other states, this offense is called "statutory rape." In Utah, the crime occurs when an adult has unlawful sexual conduct with a minor who is 16 or 17 years old.What is the youngest age of consent? ›
The lowest age of consent is in Nigeria (11) followed by the Philippines and Angola (12). The age of consent is 13 in four countries – Japan, Niger, Comoros and Burkina Faso.Can I drink a beer and drive in Utah? ›
Utah's DUI Laws
Utah's blood alcohol content limit is 0.05 percent, marking the strictest DUI law in the country.
Utah Distracted Driving Laws at a Glance.
|Can you send/receive texts at a red light?||X|
|Is handheld device use permitted?||X *|